About IEEE Brain

The IEEE Brain Initiative was formed in 2015 to create a technical community to facilitate cross-disciplinary collaboration and coordination to advance research, standardization, and development of engineering and technology to improve our understanding of the brain to treat diseases and to improve human condition. As an IEEE-wide effort, the IEEE Brain Initiative unites engineering and computing expertise across IEEE Societies and Councils relevant to neuroscience, and provides an avenue for IEEE to work with multiple constituencies in academia, industry and government to incubate and sponsor new activities, projects, and standards that facilitate bringing neurotechnology to market in an ethical and responsible manner.


Chair: Paul Sajda, PhD, Columbia University
Chair-Elect: Jack Gallant, University of California, Berkeley

Steering Committee

Paul Berger, The Ohio State University
Vince Calhoun, Georgia Tech
Gert Cauwenberghs, University of California, San Diego
Damien Coyle, University of Ulster
Carolyn McGregor, Ontario Tech University
Ellis Meng, University of Southern California
Rikky Muller, University of California, Berkeley
Jose Principe, University of Florida
Jan Rabaey, University of California, Berkeley
Mike Schneider, NIST
Mike Smith, University of California, Berkeley
Ljiljana Trajkovic, Simon Fraser University

Subcommittee Chairs

Conferences Subcommittee Chair: Grace Rigdon, GCR Consulting
Publications Subcommittee Chair: Yiwen Wang, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Education Subcommittee Chair: Reza Abbasi-Asl, University of California, San Francisco
Industry Subcommittee Chair: Doug Weber, Carnegie Mellon University
Neuroethics Subcommitte Chair: Laura Cabrera, Penn State University
Standards Subcommittee Chair: Ricardo Chavarriaga, Confederation of Laboratories for Artificial Intelligence Research in Europe (CLAIRE)



Neuroethics Senior Advisor: James Giordano, PhD, Georgetown University
NIH Liaison: David McMullen, MD
International Neuroethics Society (INS) Liaisons: Peter Reiner, PhD, University of British Columbia & Laura Cabrera, PhD, Penn State University


Sponsoring Societies

The following Societies provide financial sponsorship for the IEEE Brain Community.